# DeKalb County Board of Health Summary Minutes of Board Meeting March 24, 2016 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Bohan Auditorium

#### **Board Members Present**

The Honorable Jeff Rader, Interim Chair The Honorable Ted Terry, Parliamentarian Jacqueline Davis Camara Jones, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D. Delphyne Lomax Vasanne Tinsley, Ed.D. Clyde Watkins, M.D.

#### **Guests and Staff Present**

 $S.\ Elizabeth\ Ford,\ M.D.,\ M.B.A.,\ District\ Health\ Dir.$ 

Ryan Cira

Catherine Palmer Kari Giles

Carrissa Jones

Kassie Bennett Angelle Rozier

Beth Ruddiman Brenda K. Smith

Jessica Grippo

Cynthia Stroud Ed Prime

Minnie Mitchell Letha Baynes

## **Guests and Staff Present (cont'd.)**

Sandra Piñeyro, Recording Sec.

Shequoia Harris Sedessie Spivey

Gordon Stacey Cargal

Alyssa Soluren Don Brundage Zipatly Mendoza

Sentayehu Bedane, M.D.

Brittany Baynes Juanette Willis Patricia Joseph

Dwayne Turner, D.D.S.

Sonya Chapman

The regular meeting of the DeKalb County Board of Health was called to order by Jeff Rader, Interim Chair, at 3:00 p.m. Interim Chair Rader amended the agenda to move item VI. to the top.

A public hearing was held at 2:00 p.m. on this day to receive public comments on the Rules of the Georgia Department of Public Health, Chapter 511-3-6, Portable Sanitation Contractors. After discussion, Board member Jones moved that we forward any comments or changes to the Department of Public Health rules to the DeKalb County Commissioners for its adoption. The motion was seconded by Board member Terry, with all in favor.

#### Approval of Minutes – January 28, 2016

Interim Chair Rader asked for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Dr. Jones moved to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by Board member Davis, with all in favor.

Summary of Board Meeting Minutes March 24, 2016 Page 2

#### Nominations and Election of 2016 Board of Health Officers

Board member Davis reported on the process used to nominate Board officers. She stated that she received nominations from two Board members. There are three positions to be filled, i.e., chair, vice chair and parliamentarian.

Interim Chair Rader received one nomination for chair. Board members Davis and Terry were nominated for vice chair and Board member Watkins was nominated for parliamentarian.

Board member Terry yielded the nomination for vice chair to Board member Davis. The Board unanimously approved Interim Chair Rader as chair, Board member Davis as vice chair and Board member Watkins as Parliamentarian.

#### **Director's Board Report**

Dr. Ford reported that the Board of Health has been accredited, with no corrective action. There are 117 local health departments that are accredited with only about five have been accredited with no corrective actions.

There were four service plaques and one retirement service globe presented.

### **Public Comments**

No public comments.

### **Board Comments**

No Board comments.

#### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Approved by:

Sandra Piñeyro Recording Secretary

> The Honorable Jeff Rader, Chair Clyde Watkins, M.D., Parliamentarian